Skip to main content

Bright Sparks

The most notable and exciting work from abstracts submitted to the conference by early career scientists will be honored with an oral presentation in one of the Bright Sparks Workshops. Presenters are expected to explain their work and answer questions from the audience. The awardees for the Biolegend Bright Sparks Awards will be chosen from those presentations.



Monday, September 3, 2018; 10:15-11:30

Developmental origin of osteoclasts and their functional maintenance by nuclear chimerism
E. Mass, C. J. Jacome-Galarza, G. I. Percin, T. Lazarov, J. Eitler, M. Rauner, L. Crozet, M. Bohm, C. Waskow, F. Geissmann, Bonn, Germany   

Uncovering the regulatory T cell transcriptional signature in the human thymus
M. Ângelo-Dias, A. Godinho-Santos, Y. Tokunaga, A. Serra-Caetano, H. Nunes-Cabaço, A. E. Sousa, A. A. Raposo, Lisbon, Portugal   

Human T-bet+ B cells: induction and effector functions from a multiple sclerosis perspective
J. van Langelaar, L. Rijvers, M. Janssen, I. de Groot, L. Kalden, A. F. Wierenga-Wolf, S. Koetzier, T. A. Siepman, H. E. de Vries, P. Unger, M. S. van Ham, R. Q. Hintzen, M. M. Luijn, Rotterdam, Netherlands   

Extracellular Vesicles derived from licensed Mesenchymal Stem Cells: a tunable approach to regulate inflammatory angiogenesis
R. Angioni, S. Herkenne, C. Liboni, R. Sanchez-Rodriguez, B. Calì, G. Borile, A. Viola, Padova, Italy   

Lymph node stromal cell function upon immune activation is modulated by dynamics between podoplanin and its binding partners on the plasma membrane
C. M. de Winde, A. C. Benjamin, L. Millward, V. G. Martinez, S. E. Acton, London, United Kingdom   

Autoimmune associated gene PTPN22 is a novel negative regulator of dendritic cell homeostasis and function
H. A. Purvis, F. Clarke, G. H. Cornish, T. J. Peel, C. Sanchez-Blanco, D. J. Rawlings, R. Zamoyska, P. Guermonprez, A. P. Cope, London, United Kingdom


Monday, September 3, 2018; 10:15-11:30

Immunotargeting of acute myeloid leukemia by highly polyclonal Delta One T cells
B. Di Lorenzo, A. E. Simões, F. Caiado, P. Tieppo, D. V. Correia, J. Déchanet-Merville, T. Schumacher, H. Norell, I. Prinz, S. Ravens, D. Vermijlen, B. Silva-Santos, Lisboa, Portugal    

Broad tumor microenvironment remodelling after oncolytic Adenovirus coding for TNFa and IL-2 enable T-cell therapies to deliver complete responses in solid tumors
V. Cervera-Carrascon, R. Havunen, J. M. Santos, M. Siurala, S. Sorsa, A. Hemminki,, Helsinki, Finland    

NF-kB c-Rel is crucial for the regulatory T cell immune checkpoint in cancer.
Y. Grinberg-Bleyer, H. Oh, A. Desrichard, T. Chan, R. Schmid, M. Hayden, U. Klein, S. Ghosh, Lyon, France    

Mitochondrial DNA shapes metabolism in immune response
A. V. Lechuga-Vieco, G. Prota, U. Gileadi, A. Latorre-Pellicer, J. Pellico, J. Ruíz-Cabello, V. Cerundolo, J. A. Enriquez,, Madrid, Spain    

Milieu Interieur: defining immunological variability through systems biology for a better understanding of disease
D. Duffy, E. Patin, C. Posseme, B. Charbit, J. Bergsted, H. Quach, V. Rouilly, M. Hasan, J. Fellay, J. Di Santo, M. Albert, L. Quintana Murci, Milieu Intérieur Consortium, Paris, France    

T cell - target cell communication is determined by glycosphingolipid-mediated shielding of cell surface proteins
A. A. de Waard, M. L. Jongsma, T. Zhang, S. Holst, M. Wuhrer, C. E. van der Schoot, R. M. Spaapen, Amsterdam, Netherlands


Tuesday, September 4, 2018; 10:15-11:30

Tissue resident memory T-cell (TRM) maintenance is regulated by tissue damage
R. Stark, T. H. Wesselink, F. M. Behr, N. A. Kragten, K. P. van Gisbergen, R. A. van Lier, Amsterdam, Netherlands   

TLR7 escapes X chromosome inactivation in immune cells
J. Guéry, Toulouse, France   

Human regulatory T cells suppress CD4+ T cells by rapidly altering the phosphoproteome
R. N. Joshi, F. Marabita, N. Binai, Z. Sui, A. Altman, A. J. Heck, J. Tegner, A. Schmidt, Stocholm, Sweden   

Prophylactic treatment with novel forms of allergen-laden virus like-nanoparticles (VNP) induces specific tolerance in a mouse model of allergy
B. Kratzer, C. Köhler, S. Hofer, U. Smole, D. Trapin, J. Iturri, D. Pum, P. Kienzl, A. Elbe-Bürger, P. Gattinger, I. Mittermann, B. Linhart, Y. Dorofeeva, B. Jahn-Schmid, A. Neunkirchner, R. Valenta, W. F. Pickl, Vienna, Austria   

Macrophages require CD200 receptor to resolve inflammatory pain
R. Raoof, M. van der Vlist, H. Willemen, J. Prado Sanchez, L. Meyaard, N. Eijkelkamp, Utrecht, Netherlands   

Tissue-resident memory CD8+ T cells form systemic effector and memory responses but ‘remember’ their site of origin
F. M. Behr, T. H. Wesselink, L. Parga Vidal, N. A. Kragten, R. Stark, K. P. van Gisbergen, Amsterdam, Netherlands   


Tuesday, September 4, 2018; 10:15-11:30

Intestinal IgA shows specific broad binding to phylogenetically non-related bacteria
J. Kabbert, H. Wardemann, O. Pabst, Aachen, Germany    

Oxysterol sensing through the receptor GPR183 promotes the lymphoid tissue-inducing function of innate lymphoid cells and colitis
J. Emgård, H. Kammoun, B. García-Cassani, J. Chesné, S. Parigi, J. Jacob, H. Cheng, E. Evren, S. Das, P. Czarnewski, N. Sleiers, F. Melo-Gonzalez, E. Kvedaraite, M. Svensson, E. Scandella, M. Hepworth, S. Huber, B. Ludewig, L. Peduto, E. Villablanca, H. Veiga-Fernandes, J. Pereira, R. Flavell, T. Willinger, Stockholm, Sweden    

Eomes broadens the scope of CD8 T cell memory by inhibiting apoptosis in low-affinity cells
I. Kavazović, E. Slinger, G. Balzaretti, P. Klarenbeek, H. Han, N. A. Lemmermann, A. ten Brinke, J. Koster, S. Jonjić, N. de Vries, Y. Bryceson, B. Polić, E. Eldering, F. M. Wensveen, Rijeka, Croatia    

Pentraxin3 Regulates IL-17A Mediated Immunity to Leishmania
G. Gupta, P. Jia, J. E. Uzonna, Winnipeg, Canada    

Imaging the host-pathogen interaction in tuberculosis in a bioelectrospray 3D cell culture model
E. Konstantinopoulou, L. B. Tezera, S. Mahajan, P. T. Elkington, Southampton, United Kingdom    

Single cell analysis reveals functional heterogeneity within plasmacytoid dendritic cells and identifies environmental cues that drive type I IFN production
F. Wimmers, N. Subedi, D. Heister, N. van Buuringen, J. Vivié, I. Beeren-Reinieren, R. Woestenk, H. Dolstra, A. Piruska, A. van Oudenaarden, C. Figdor, W. Huck, J. de Vries, J.Tel, Eindhoven, Netherlands